A Couple of National Pie Day Limericks

by Joel Kravitz

national pie day

Pie is well celebrated with several National Days – January 23rd and, of course, March 14th. Pie is something wonderful that deserves all of the praise and waxing poetic that it receives.

I am a “not the least bit interested in recovering” foodie and I have a large cookbook collection that I have curated from estate sales over the years. It includes two great editions, one exclusively devoted to pie, and a second that devotes half of its pages to pie. It is great fun to bake a pie – picking out a recipe, picking up the ingredients, making a mess with the flour making the pie dough, putting the filling into the pie, the aroma of the pie when you take it out of the oven and then, the best part of all, eating the pie!

national pie day 4

I’m a pie loving gourmet
And I’m devoted to pie, I must say
There’s nothing more thrilling
Than flaky pie crust and filling…
I could celebrate pie every day!

National Pie Day 3

I have been writing limericks about pie for a while. Below is one of my favorites and links to two flavor specific pies

Pie is great as a wonderful dessert or as a euphemism! Who wants pie?

When a pretty face catches your eye,
That’s not the time to be shy.
To express your desire
You need to inquire….
I was wondering “Do you like pie?”

https://poetscornerblog.wordpress.com/2023/08/15/a-national-lemon-meringue-pie-day-limerick-2/

https://poetscornerblog.wordpress.com/2022/12/03/a-national-apple-pie-day-limerick/

One Trackback to “A Couple of National Pie Day Limericks”

If you enjoyed the poem. please leave a comment.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.