MEMORIES GONE ROGUE

by thereluctantpoet

By Charles Robert Lindholm 

I keep secrets and memories
buried deeply in my heart
the ones I treasure most
locked away from my mind
and soul so they feel no pain
or regrets about the past 

My heart is very careful
about the memories
it releases to be in
the dreams I have
at night 

These memories
are closely guarded
to ensure they don’t
disturb my reality
and the reason I
rarely remember dreams 

But some memories
are stronger than most
and have a burning desire
to be heard
and to be known
by the world

They’ve heard of memories
that have escaped
from my heart
and found
a Reluctant Poet
in my soul
that helped them
become free
by putting them
into poems
with ink and paper
and sent them
out into the world
beyond the reaches
of my heart 

They have
become Memories Gone Rogue
living a life that has
become their own 

Copyright © 2017 Charles Robert Lindholm – All Rights Reserved
Inspired by “At A Loss Of Words” by Yazzeus on yazzeus.com

 

3 Comments to “MEMORIES GONE ROGUE”

If you enjoyed the poem. please leave a comment.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.