Conundrum

by Peter Notehelfer

The world is such a simple place
   yet life is such a difficult thing
How did we get to be this way?
   Always swimming against the tide

“We are difficult. Human beings are difficult.
We’re difficult to ourselves, we’re difficult to each other.
And we are mysteries to ourselves, we are mysteries to each other . . .” ~ Geoffrey Hill

9 Comments to “Conundrum”

  1. some of us just let the tide carry us away

  2. You caused me to think what conundrum did the picture pose? I refuse to let the tide carry me away.

  3. Always swimming against the tide, surly that is the fault of the person involved.

    Did you know you have 7 poems in drafts 🙂

    • I don’t think ‘fault’ is the issue; I think human nature will fight ‘against the tide’ up to its last breath . . .
      Do you mean I have 7 poems in my ‘Poet’s Corner’ draft file? I had no idea . . . I thought I had posted everything . . . Good Grief! I’m prolific . . .

If you enjoyed the poem. please leave a comment.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.