Converse

by Jem Croucher

 

I have a pair of checkered Converse
They are quite mad (I know)
But they bring a smile to faces
Wherever I may go

I have a pair of yellow Converse
They are my favourite shoes
Reminding me of summer
Something I can never lose

I have a pair of silver Converse
I used to wear when in the band
Part and parcel of my costume
They made me look quite grand

I have a pair of gingham Converse
They are my scruffiest pair
But I will wear them ’til they fall apart
‘Cos that’s their purpose there

I have six more pairs of Converse
‘That’s a lot” I hear you say
Well yes I know, I guess it is
But that is me and hey…

…I am known for wearing Converse
They are a part of who I am
So I’ll always keep on buying
‘Cos they’re there and I just can

 

4 Comments to “Converse”

  1. Awesome! I’ve got a similar thing with Dr Martens (that chick with all the Docs) ❤️

  2. Brill. got my first pair when I was 12 – and haven’t stopped!

  3. Love them! I have 10 pairs and counting. They are an essential wardrobe staple 🙂

    • Hoorah – another Converse collector! I know the poem talks of just ten pairs – but that was just finding words to fit! Truth be told, I have rather more than that – very hard to part with (even the really old and now unwearable ones!).

If you enjoyed the poem. please leave a comment.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.