Where’s God?

by Harry

Submitted by Bo Bestvina

.

I don’t find God in the pretty things
So I’ll pass on the bright lights
And glistening teeth

I don’t find God
In performances of consumption
Or in unapproachable beauty and youth

God doesn’t exist
In what people think of me
In my status or fantasy as “someone”
Or in the toy thoughts
My little fingers play with
Throughout the day

Are you in the smile of a baby?
Or in the cool air making the Aspen leaves flutter in Spring?
Can I find you in a good kiss, a last breadth or a sweet red apple?

Will I find you, God, in a good song or a good thought?
Or in something quieter, like ice and rock?
If you remain a mystery, can I still love you?

2 Responses to “Where’s God?”

Trackbacks

If you enjoyed the poem. please leave a comment.

