HAS THERE BEEN AN ECHO FROM MY LIFE?

by thereluctantpoet

By Charles Robert Lindholm 

I imagine standing
at the edge of eternity
at the edge of the abyss
and wondering
if there has been an echo
from the life I have lived on earth
anywhere in the world 

has there been a resonance with anyone
from my time here
from anything that I have done or written?
I wonder,
I have my doubts
the truth stings 

Time well spent or wasted
sometimes a single moment in time
changes history, changes destiny
and changes our life
I have learned that lesson well
during my life’s journey 

Perhaps a poet doesn’t get echoes
maybe a poet’s words don’t bounce back
in an echo to revel in
because they are absorbed
into the heart
like the rain on a desert
so that flowers can bloom
and seeds of inspiration
grow
and bring joy
to a reader’s heart 

My life will have no echoes

HAS THERE BEEN AN ECHO FROM MY LIFE

but perhaps the ripples
from my words
will bring a smile
to someone’s face
and touch their heart 

and I will be happy! 

Copyright © 2017 Charles Robert Lindholm – All Rights Reserved
Inspired from DavyD’s Poetic Motivations #56 on davydblog.com

5 Comments to “HAS THERE BEEN AN ECHO FROM MY LIFE?”

  1. Awe, sweet sentiment here !!

  2. Your poems resonate with me in such a big way. You inspire me and make me smile. Your poetry makes a difference every day.

    • Pick-a-Boo – Where are you? I want to give you a big, big hug!! You, My Dear have just made my day!!! What more can a poet want to hear? I am overjoyed to hear that they inspire you and make you smile!! That’s Hugs and Kisses for a poet!!! You are making me blush! I guess you’ve just provided me with all the motivation I need to write for all of 2018!!!
      So, I’m guessing you are answering the question in the title as a Yes? LOL! Can you hear mine???
      Thank you, My Dear!!
      Chuck
      xoxoxo

If you enjoyed the poem. please leave a comment.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.