PLUNDERED

by thereluctantpoet

By Charles Robert Lindholm 

empty words like trojan horses
seeking to deceive
thinking I don’t know the truth
hoping I’ll believe

I hear the hollow promises
echoing again
you plundered once my heart
now I won’t let you in 

you say this time it’s different
it isn’t like before
but I shall not be foolish
and open up the door 

Copyright © 2017 Charles Robert Lindholm – All Rights Reserved

4 Comments to “PLUNDERED”

  1. Very strong poem. I really liked the imagery.

  2. Great first line!!! And perfectly rhythmic lines that make this read with ease. Has me thinking…

    • I’m so glad you liked it!! Sometimes I wonder if what I write gets through. Thanks for letting me know it does – for some.
      My words want you to know that they love that you are going back in time to their younger days in the archive! Ha!
      Chuck

If you enjoyed the poem. please leave a comment.

