There Are Miles

by lindaluna583

There are miles, but that’s all they are.
Having to be away from you is not easy;
Even so, I find that it is not difficult.
Reading your texts, the distance between us
Evaporates like steam off hot asphalt. I close my eyes

And your voice sounds clearly in my ears—
Radiant, just like your smiling eyes.
Elation soars as I catch the scent of your cologne.

Memory is such a powerful thing!
I replay each conversation while waiting for the next one,
Living it over and over again in my heart, letting it
Enfold me in the memory of you, until it feels as though we are
Standing face to face, and arm in arm.

Acrostic
© 2017 Abigail Gronway – All Rights Reserved
from Dark Side of the Moon

If you enjoyed the poem. please leave a comment.

