’63 VW

by Alanna

I have the heart & soul

of a ’63 VW Bug

In my youth

A steady warrior of the road

But now

A purring antiquity

That prefers the slow lane

My air cooled engine

Runs too hot in the summer

And too cold in the winter

And by today’s standard

A safety hazard

 

I’m outdated by all those newer models

All computerized

Insulated from most discomforts

Of the daily ride

 

But a manual transmission suits me

I can still feel the gears

Slide into place

Getting there more slowly

But arriving

Having enjoyed the scenery

vw-2294489_1920

2 Comments to “’63 VW”

  1. I had a ’74 bug and to this day wish I’d never sold it! 🙂 Great memories!

If you enjoyed the poem. please leave a comment.

