Tyranny of the To Do List

by pranabaxom

Wrote this poem about three years back but did not post in my blogsite http://www.fleetingmuse.wordpress.com till recently.

Fear and persecution
Of the incomplete to-do-list,
Keeps me awake at night,
Robbing me of my beauty sleep.
I wake up groggy,
Dragging myself out of the bed
Shuffle to the breakfast table,
Make myself some egg and bread.
Turn on my computer, and
Look at my calendar,
Before I have my first bite,
There it is, the dreaded to-do list
Glaring at my face.
It scowls and it growls
You nincompoop, good for nothing,
How dare you go to bed
When your to-do-list still hanging there,
Incomplete and not updated.
Forget my breakfast, I tell myself,
Update the list and start your day.
I slice and dice, reformat and reprioritize,
I look down at my list and smile with pride.
There it is my updated to-do-list.
My day is going to be organized and I
am going to be fit.
Jumped out of the breakfast table,
Rushed to the shower,
To be ready for my new day and the
new list.
Alas, forgot the first item in the list,
My breakfast remained uneaten on the
plate.
Rushed out the door and jumped on the
car,
But as destiny mandated, I could not go
far.
Navigating traffic snarls and detours,
Reached my office hour late
But determined that I will ensure that
I will keep to my to-do-list.
Where you had been, my boss howled.
Been waiting for hours to start the
meeting, he growled.
One thing led to another, and soon it
was noon.
The growling in my tummy reminded
me,
I need to have my lunch pretty soon.
Well, to make a long story short,
Meetings ran on and on.
Soon it was night and
Time to head back home.
Grabbed a sandwich on my way back,
Dragged my weary body to bed,
Opened my computer to look at my calendar,
And there it was,
My trusted incomplete to-do-list,
Ready to rob me of one more night of my
Good night sleep.
Oh!
The tyranny and persecution
of my to-do-list.

© Pranab Sarma 2017

2 Comments to “Tyranny of the To Do List”

  1. I seldom make to-do-lists, because in private I’m very undisciplined. The only list I write is when I’m doing the weekly shopping tour, and I always buy more items that I’ve written down. 😉

If you enjoyed the poem. please leave a comment.

