Broken

by charmedchaos12

Broken

-Linda Lee Lyberg

Now
It’s real
It’s over
It’s done
It’s overdone
Seven years was too long
To torture an innocent heart.

Blackened
It sits in my chest
Shriveled and dry
Wanting to rest
Pleading with me
Stop, stop, stop
Can’t you see
I’m dying?
Yet on I go
Breathe in
Breathe out
Eat, so bitter
Sleep, erratic
Repeat, repeat, repeat
As my broken heart weeps.
While I,
To the world
Try my best to
Carry on asĀ if
Nothing at all of
Any importance
Has happened.
At last
Winding
Down, down, down
The sequence ends
Terminal condition
Prevails.
If you enjoyed the poem. please leave a comment.

