MY LIGHT

by thereluctantpoet

By Charles Robert Lindholm

 

like a raptor chasing lunch

or a missile locked on target

zooming into you

would be so easy to do

it’s a basic instinct

of my gender

 

but I’m not

a hunter seeking prey

I’ve never ever

been that way

 

it’s attraction not promotion

like the moon upon the ocean

pulling waves upon the shore

you have to want what’s in my store

 

like a fire needs a flame

and a moth feels just the same

drawn by inner yearning

to a heart within that’s burning

 

racing to my light

is the proof

that it is right

 

Copyright © 2017 Charles Robert Lindholm – All Right Reserved

One Comment to “MY LIGHT”

  1. Your writing and perspective is inspiring. The line about moth was wonderful!

If you enjoyed the poem. please leave a comment.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.