Fly Away to Heaven

by Angela Umphers Rueger

“O that I had wings like a dove,
For then would I fly away and be at rest!”
Frequently I have yearned within my breast
To flee to yon celestial home above.

Troubles come that seize my weakened soul
And make me long for heaven’s happy shore.
In Glory I shall sorrow nevermore;
A path of ease my weary feet shall stroll.

For one beloved is rudely seized by death.
And loneliness has seized my wounded heart.
I feel I can’t go on without my counterpart,
And now I wish to draw my final breath.

“No,” God says, “your time has not yet come.
I have much more to teach you; more to purge.
Your life is not yet perfect, so I urge
You: Rest content until I call you home.”

No longer do I fret about my ills,
Yet still I long for Heaven’s sweet release,
When sin that so encumbers me shall cease.
To Heaven I shall fly when my Lord wills.
Then I His lovely face at last shall see,
And thank my precious Lord for choosing me.

Copyright © 2005, 2017 Angela Umphers Rueger – All Rights Reserved
From The Abundant Heart

One Comment to “Fly Away to Heaven”

  1. Such a great revelation of moving from wanting release to accepting God’s plan.

If you enjoyed the poem. please leave a comment.

