Lord, Here Am I

by Angela Umphers Rueger

Lord, here am I to labor unrewarded,
To serve unpaid, unloved, unsought, unknown,
Unknown, unloved by all but my dear children,
Lord, here am I to teach my young at home.

Lord, here am I; but, Father, I am fearful.
I know not how to teach, to love, to guide.
My friends and loved ones think me an eccentric.
Lord, here am I; in You I shall abide.

Lord, here am I; please help me mold my children,
So they will learn to love and serve You too,
They may be fairly smart; that does not matter,
So long as they will be to their God true.


from The Abundant Heart

If you enjoyed the poem. please leave a comment.

