All in a Day’s Work

by Angela Umphers Rueger

Running
going
never
stopping
something’s got to give
working
schooling
going
shopping
this is how we live

homework
house work
garden
swim
do your very best
evening comes, the lights go dim—
Now it’s time to rest.

9 Comments to “All in a Day’s Work”

  1. Wonderful and inspirational! Well done, Angela!

    Have you ever felt hopeless or low when hindrances ran into your path? Go through my inspirational poem “I Can Reach High” at
    https://akashsingh2017.wordpress.com/2017/05/11/i-can-reach-high/
    It’s a poem of Hope, strength and a never ending spirit to live Life.
    Hope you will like it 🙂
    Do leave your feedback, as it’s precious.

  2. Ahh, A message from Our own, and Beloved Whirlwind!!!
    Thank You Angela for this lovely and insightful poem about how much of a Whirlwind of activity we live with these days! A most Beautiful List poem, I like them!

    Noticed Your sly side here??? A “Sleight of Words” perhaps? I’m always looking for the fun little things. You said, “rest” a needed word for the rhyme, but you didn’t resolve to the final state of sleep or slumber or dreaming with an additional last line – just a rest, timeout, pause before a new round of whirling at home? LOL! So very, Lovely!! Bravo! Angela

    Your works are always a pleasure to read!
    The Reluctant Poet

    • Thank you. I wrote this in college, back in 1992. Originally I had said for ll. 11-14, “school work, homework, housework, yard work…” but my professor didn’t like it because it broke from the rhyming pattern I had established. I came to this revision this year. Seems like my life has always been a whirlwind; and to be honest, I don’t know how to live any other way. I thrive on the energy of the storm. 🙂

      • Oh, You are so wonderful to share with us! Love Back Stories!! Oh, You are bad leaving seeds of inspiration!!
        The Power of the Storm?? I’ll have to make a deposit for You.

If you enjoyed the poem. please leave a comment.

