First Migration

by Alanna

arctic-tern-1249243_1920

 FIRST MIGRATION

A sliver of a moon

Shimmered off my left shoulder

As we pumped our wings

Rhythmically, silently

Through the darkness of the frigid night.

The urge unexplained

Tugged on my soul

& led me onward, North

Guided by stars

And the pull of the earth.

leaving the familiar behind

An unknown destiny awaiting.

I revel in the freedom of flight

Trusting the whispers from deep within

I follow the others to a foreign land

On a course mapped by generations before me.

canada-geese-575262_1920

3 Comments to “First Migration”

  1. Alana, I sent you an email, I need you to do what it says in it , Harry.

If you enjoyed the poem. please leave a comment.

