The Shilling

by Jem Croucher

I remember when I was a lad
how much a shilling gave
were I to spend it, even though
I was encouraged then to save

And so it was in West George Street
in Glasgow, Sunday night
The Shilling Brewing Co I found
built on an old bank site

And though it cost a little more
the beer there that I had
gave memory of the pleasure felt
with a shilling as a lad

©Jemverse

The Shilling Brewing Co was founded in 2016 and occupies the premises of a former Royal Bank of Scotland site. The old bank vault doors remain in the basement when the ladies and gents toilets are now.

A shilling was a unit of English currency before decimalisation in 1968. It was worth 12 old pennies or around 5 pence in today’s money. Back in the day you could get a lot with a shilling; but nowadays you can get virtually nothing with a 5 pence piece!

Photo – a pint of Joker IPA – Jempics

5 Comments to “The Shilling”

  1. I remember buying a gallon of gas for 25 US cents in the 1960’s. Of course some of those coins had real silver in them.

  2. I used to go to the cinema get a drink and sweets all for a shilling, I have about 20 of them plus other coins what about the 3d bit 🙂

    • Ah! the thrupenny bit! Fond memories. For me though it was the sixpence. Used to get one a week for my pocket money. 9d would get me a Matchbox car. A bob would get me a Dinky!

  3. They were the days when you learnt the value of money, when it was gone that was it 🙂

    I have a box of coins in the attic and a lot from the republic their pounds were coins loads of them.

If you enjoyed the poem. please leave a comment.

