Noisy Silent Nonsense

by frankhubeny

That noise is mostly silence
Like chatter in one’s mind,
Like giggling done by things that run
And wanting only to have fun,
But fun is hard to find.

I’ve let them have their freedom.
They like my well-stocked zoo,
I have no doubt they can’t get out.
Their thinking must be all about
How they can get me, too.


Linked to NaPoWriMo2017 and to Imaginary Garden With Real Toads where Stacie Eirich is celebrating children’s poetry.

10 Comments to “Noisy Silent Nonsense”

  1. Enjoyed reading this one! Keep up, DG.

  2. Frank, thanks so much for participating in my prompt! I enjoyed the settle play with rhyme in this, and love the juxtaposition of silence & sound. While not nonsensical, it is playful in a childlike way — sometimes I do feel there is a zoo within the minds of writers, in all its glorious chaos. Have a great weekend. 🙂 -Stacie

  3. They like my well-stocked zoo – a line that can almost stand alone.

  4. Such a fun read! Nicely done!! Do they escape via words because I think some of them might be hiding in my mind too! LOL!

If you enjoyed the poem. please leave a comment.

