I Am the Sorrow

by braveandrecklessblog

Some days I do not just feel sorrow

Some days I am the sorrow

I am the grey sky

That threatens spitting snow

I am the heaviness in your limbs

Your shuffling gait

Reluctant to get

Where you are expected

 

Some days

I am the sorrow

The stark, leafless, skeletal

Branches of the trees

Dwelling in the in-between

Of not quite late autumn

Not quite early winter

That borderline of the seasons

When light is dwindling

And the darkness grows

 

Some days

I am the wistfulness

That longing for your younger self

When time stretched endlessly

Before you

The world full of possibility

And the crisp taste of golden fruit

 

Some days

I am the very ache in your chest

That you feel

When you despair of ever

Finding your soul mate

Who must be out there wandering

In this same twilight

Desperately longing

To find you

SOME DAYS I AM THE SORROW

5 Comments to “I Am the Sorrow”

  1. For The Reluctant Poet #3 of my favorite poems I have written

    • Christine!!! So wonderful! Another masterpiece of deep feeling, emotion and wistfulness. I’m wondering how you can possibly judge these but I’m anxiously awaiting #4. You are so sweet to me and the followers to make this like the Twelve Days of Christmas! I think you should expand Your top 10 to Your Top 12!

      And then You gave us the added bonus of an embed of an audio of you reading it! We better go buy lotto tickets! Bravo, Bravo! Many thanks!

    • See, I got so excited I forgot to tell you some of the lines I loved the most (too many to list them all) – “Some days

      I am the wistfulness

      That longing for your younger self

      When time stretched endlessly

      Before you

      The world full of possibility”

      You perfectly captured the way the mirror has made me feel for several decades now. LOL!

If you enjoyed the poem. please leave a comment.

