About Purple Gardens

by Stephen Fuller

 

Today, down by the Salley Garden, I just watched you walk away
You bade me, baited me to take life easy, to live an easy love
I felt far away from the springing of grass and the greens of trees
Emerging along the path, awakening me, asking me about today.

You laid your snow white hand in mine, and with one kind squeeze showed
Me how I lost you. I was far away. We were far away from where we left.
Tonight, down by the Salley Gardens, I just close my eyes and stay, asking
Am I losing or can I now smell the purple lilac, the lavender, the laurel?

With respects to The National, Yeats, and PoetGirlEm:

https://poetgirlem.wordpress.com/2017/04/03/when-puppets-turn/

https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems-and-poets/poems/detail/50311

6 Comments to “About Purple Gardens”

  1. You bade me, baited me to take life easy, – a perfect one line poem snipped in complete form

  2. Ok. Ok. I reshuffle words too and even add them! Does that put me on Poetry’s Most Wanted List? I think Mr. S and Ms. Singledust have been targets of mine! All I can say is Thank You so much for leaving a seed that bloomed into a new poem! I’m so grateful!

    Loved the internal reflection of this poem. This line spoke to me and seemed to be a hub of the work – “You laid your snow white hand in mine, and with one kind squeeze showed
    Me how I lost you.” Kudos!!

If you enjoyed the poem. please leave a comment.

