Project Walk

by scatterednotebooks
16864544_10211837411671450_6452690903137531503_n

Elena on the G-EO Walking System

Two feet in the morning
I walked or ran each day

I used to take for granted
what is a struggle now today

In ’93 Doc’s said MS
the rollercoaster ride began

Three feet in the afternoon
a young woman and a cane

it’s just pure frustration
to stand or walk, cane free

kind people offer me their help
that I don’t want to need

a test of muscle memory
like you have never seen

a fight I am prepared to wage
a battle much bigger than me

to master this metal monster
so I may cast away my wheels

© L. Rose (Sentiment by Elena M.)

I recently reconnected with a friend from High School. I discovered that she was diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis several years ago. Recently she posted something about it on FB; part of it was a revelation that insurance doesn’t cover the cost of a program called Project Walk, as they regulate physical therapy visits. She provided a link to the information, and it is an incredible program. I promised to help in some way, and the only way I could think to help is to get the word out. The only way I could think to do that is to write, so I wrote. The poem is a product of Elena’s own words and sentiment. You might notice a vague nod to Sophocles as well.

This is not a solicitation – just information.

As always, feedback and comments are welcome. Happy Blogging, and thank you for reading. ~ Linda

Elena’s story

Some information:
Project Walk
Per Elena, it is,

“a paralysis recovery center, that concentrates on people with mobility issues in efforts to get them walking/functioning again…from spinal chord injuries, MS, Parkinsons, ALS, etc.”

Being medically uninformed, I looked up resources for kids so I could understand a little better: I found the following and some of its links very informative:
For Kids Keep S’myelin

An activity book that had good info

G EO System Product video long version – YouTube

9 Comments to “Project Walk”

  1. Thank you for sharing this. It is great that you are taking an interest in others, something we all need to do! We all need to remember, “But for the Grace of God, . . . . .” We should never take our blessings for granted nor fail to help where we can. Thanks again.

    • Thank you. Sometimes I get frustrated that I can’t do more, but it’s easy to forget that ‘anything’ is better than nothing. Seeing – hearing – speaking.

      • You are so insightful and wise! And tender-hearted and caring too!! I loved your – Seeing – hearing – speaking! The world would be a better place if we all did more of that instead of “walking by” as in the Parable of The Good Samaritan!

  2. You have written a wonderful post, really it’s appreciated

  3. Wonderful post no problem saying yes. A lot of people offer help after the fact but you are helping now, more power to your elbow ( as we say )

  4. Linda you have been added to the authors page, I forgot 🙂

If you enjoyed the poem. please leave a comment.

