let winter be

by Singledust

Take the summer sun as you leave
And all the falling autumn leaves
But don’t take away my December
When at last it is winter

Take the warmth of a summer day
And keep it inside a stack of hay
But leave the cold frost on my window
When ice comes knocking once more

Take the light of a fragrant spring night
And all the minutes an hour holds tight
But leave me with the white winter snow
And the cold air against the wooden door

Take everything that makes me wrong
And have it locked away strong
But see some of the right that I could be
And gently come lay down beside me

2 Comments to “let winter be”

  1. Loved the way you layed this all out!! Am I right in guessing this is a flight of fancy from the equator?? Loved the last ines best – “But see some of the right that I could be, And gently come lay down beside me” That’s an offer/invitation not likely to be refused??? So nicely done!

    • hi Charles, yes I do love snow and long for it very much! I always ask that someone see some good I might still have, after he has seen all the craziness that makes me, me. He would have to be a really gentle soul to know mine. Glad you liked that line.

If you enjoyed the poem. please leave a comment.

