Lies…

by Harry

Submitted by 23sakshi23

.

What are best friends?
Are they always there for you?
Do they keep secrets?
Do they hide from you?

Do they pretend they care?
Do they stab you in the back?
Do they actually care?
Or do they just use you?

I don’t know what a best friend is
Because I thought I had one
But I guess I was a fool.

I defended you in school
When everyone else made fun
I hung out with you
Even if it meant not being cool.

So tell me,
Is this what “best friends” do?
Because if it is
I would rather not have one.

I thought I could trust you
when I told you what I felt.
My secrets I left in your hand .
If I went to sleep late last night, you knew.

You always knew my worries.
And talking to you would make them fly away,
But who knew you had another side
Which always comforted me with lies.
I could not lie to you, for you were my best friend,
until I met your other side.
Don’t deny anything to me ’cause all you say is a lie.
You told me I was beautiful, and for the first time I believed it,
but I was wrong, or maybe I can trust you.

I am confused, what should I do?
Should I trust you or not?
You tell me it’s okay,
that my secrets are safe with you,
but what if you say something or maybe your other side does.
I don’t want to meet it, but I think I already have.
When you promised me your friendship
and that it will always last, but you lied .
And after every lie,
it just makes me want to forget,
what we’ve been through,
all that you’ve promised me,
everything you’ve told me.
Well, goodbye to you and your so-called other side.

And if you want to know what i want,
Please know that:
You could hurt me with a truth,
I would take it.
But please don’t ever comfort me with a lie.
For it, will be the last talk between us.

2 Comments to “Lies…”

  1. Sakshi….sounds like a friend to Julius Caesar….’Et tu, Brute’….find new friends and guard your trust…if your hands get itchy…find the nearest exit

  2. Great post about questioning having Best Friends. Don’t give up on Best Friends.

If you enjoyed the poem. please leave a comment.

