Innocence

by HemmingPlay

Everyone but God, if you believe, is
Innocent of tomorrow.
Caesar, full of swagger, innocent of the daggers of friends,
Mary innocent she’d see a son murdered, slowly, while she watched.
Me, innocent about everything, including
whether a satellite will fall on me, or
I’ll get a certified letter that
immortality, six virgins and a chocolate cake
will be delivered on Saturday by 10 a.m..
I struggle to reconcile ignorance and innocence.
Do I care about what I can’t, don’t know?
Do I need more than this one, infinite moment?
Meanwhile, they say the snow will stop soon.
In a world of white, quiet and cold,
finches empty the bird feeder
and wait for more.
I am still innocent of Spring.

Hemmingplay

4 Comments to “Innocence”

  1. Innocent until we are compelled by ill fate…sometimes – I like your work here.

  2. Also as above, well done.

  3. Tomorrow brings another
    chance at whatever…

If you enjoyed the poem. please leave a comment.

