Palimpsest Kiss

by S Francis

I find palimpsests under foot

Tried to cover them with sidewalk cement
They returned, nature pushing up through cracks

I get down on my knees to feel their texture

Leaves and petals and stamens
Flowers that emerge in spite
Flowers emerge in persistence
Of a love that does more than linger
A love that lives on in spite of Fate
A love that lives on with persistence

I walk with palimpsests knowing their gift

Like little veins my soul requires
For blood to give it oxygen

I get down on my knees to feel their texture

Leaves and petals and stamens and

I kiss the lips of memory

Like that child who wanted his first kiss
In spite of not knowing its persistence,

I walk inside its palimpsest

Originally posted: https://sailorpoet.com/2017/03/02/walking-to-work-32-palimpsest-kiss/

3 Comments to “Palimpsest Kiss”

  1. So well put, My Friend! So many great lines! Loved – “Flowers emerge in persistence” and “Like little veins my soul requires For blood to give it oxygen”. A perfect imagery of “Loving and Longing for Life” kind of like the words we write that are longing for us to give them life in a poem?? Kudos.

If you enjoyed the poem. please leave a comment.

