Sheep

by Jem Croucher

This week you’ll find me writing
(continuing with a leap)
about an animal each day
and today concerns a sheep
We think of them as stupid
but I’m not having that at all
For I know they have intelligence
like this one on a wall

She’d jumped up there on purpose
to get across the other side
Where the grass was that much greener
and no gate she had espied
And that takes a bit of know-how
nay, intelligence, I’d say
Despite her haughty look
and her nonchalance, blasé

©Jemverse

Photo – Jempics

8 Comments to “Sheep”

  1. I agree sheep are intelligent. It’s the “sheeple” I wonder about. That’s also a nice rock wall in the photo.

  2. Jem….Reminisent of My Blueberry Picking Days
    The blueberries were large on the farm next door…too bad the other owner had a machete and chased us back…The blueberries clanging in our cans….Caution your sheep to make sure the other farmer does not have a machete

  3. “I’d baa ck up if I were you, you’re being baa d.” 🙂

If you enjoyed the poem. please leave a comment.

