Resurrection

by S Francis

When you broke the lemon leaf
you knew I would love the smell
a part of me that died
needed a little death
to live again

When you gave me four strawberries
you knew I would love the taste
the seed in me that died
needed a little death
to live again

and now
with this life in my hands
I want to run through your
garden
dance to the melody of your
piano
unbind the world
oh
the sweet senses of love

unbound, unbound
immersed in this cool river
love flows unbound
unbound

When you kissed me
in that smoke-filled room
you knew I would return the kiss
and complete my death

over three days,
you resurrected me
patient. kind.
unbound.

One Comment to “Resurrection”

  1. S….ah….how food and scent enamours love….come over for dinner

If you enjoyed the poem. please leave a comment.

