Back to Newcastle

by Jem Croucher

fullsizeoutput_41f

On my way back to Newcastle
today on the train
I’m prepared for the cold
but it looks more like rain

I’ll be there for two days
for work, not for leisure
But will also I’m sure take
some time out for pleasure

For my hotel is down on the
Tyne riverside
overlooking the water
‘neath the five bridges wide

So no doubt at some juncture
whilst in this great city
I’ll be raising a glass
with a beer for this ditty

Pre-written of course
as you’re reading this now
But I’ll not let that stop things
or add furrow to brow

For the writing is part
of the journey begun
and to bring in the reader
is a part of the fun

©Jemverse

Photo – Bridges over the Tyne, Newcastle, NE England – Jempics

3 Comments to “Back to Newcastle”

If you enjoyed the poem. please leave a comment.

