Pretty Everlasting

by To Be Determined

She loves me.

Bellis Perennis

She loves me not.

Day’s Eye

She loves me.

Mary’s Rose

She loves me,

Stop.

Look into the eye of the day

And tell me why

I pick even one petal

To surmise her love

And not once

Into the eyes of the woman?

Roman slaves juiced the flower

For a salve to soak bandages

Wrapping soldier’s wounds.

Now children pick the leaves

Marinating the hope that

Wraps children’s play.

She loves me.

I look into her eyes.

She loves me.

5 Responses to “Pretty Everlasting”

  1. Excellent extraction of insight and meaning from such a simple and old fashioned ritual!! Impressive!

Trackbacks

If you enjoyed the poem. please leave a comment.

