Fat Cheshire Cat

by The Poetry Channel

I have indulged
overmuch
in the vintage
of self estimation,
imbibed the distilled
liquor of sycophants,
I am drunk with power.

I will quench the sun,
light makes me squint.
In that truth
verisimilitude lies.
Distortions of the
Funhouse mirror kind.
I am become the
Fat Cheshire Cat,
orange stripes
perched upon my
Golden throne
spoiling Tea Parties,
shutting down
the Rabbit Hole.
Just tell Alice,
The Mad Queen,
Lady Liberty says
go back home.
~
M. Zane McClellan
~
Copyright © 2017
All rights reserved

7 Comments to “Fat Cheshire Cat”

  1. Colourful, potent vehicle, enjoyed that.
    Did you mean ‘I am become the’.. I found it stopped me.

    • Thank you, Anita. Yes, I meant it exactly like that. An adaptation of the line from the Hindu scripture, the Bhagavad-Gita… “Now, I am become Death, the destroyer of worlds.”
      However, I felt the article fit.

If you enjoyed the poem. please leave a comment.

