Art for my sake

by The Cheesesellers Wife

Brush in hand
I decide on the first stroke
Relieved to have got this far
Having chosen what to paint
Searching through ideas
Photos
Then mixing the colours
A bit of this
No not that
Thinning, adding
Finally
Pausing
Contemplating the paper
That moment of peace
Stillness
Before I take action

 

Copyright © 2016 Kim Whysall-Hammond

7 Comments to “Art for my sake”

  1. Much the same as writing for me – I paint my pictures with words. Because I can and because I am. Sharing with others is just a bonus.

  2. Ah, such an awesome and inspiring moment when Creativity and Expression finally strikes You the artist. (@–>–)

If you enjoyed the poem. please leave a comment.

