Driftwood Treasures

by Jem Croucher

 

With a band of rain drifting
from out over the sea
The beach is quite empty
just the ocean and me
It’s an autumnal rain
quite refreshing and warm
So I’m back at the beach
which for me is the norm

I’m here for a purpose
new driftwood to find
Searching the tideline
with sculpture in mind
For at home on the mantle
there’s a place where I thought
That something I’d made
would better one bought

So I’ll find a few pieces
washed clean by the sea
Dry them out and then craft them
into something lovely
And when done it’ll fill
the space and remind
us all of the treasures
on the beach that we find

 

If you enjoyed the poem. please leave a comment.

