Something in mind

by Jem Croucher

 

Had in mind to buy a present
But although I shopped around
My heart just wasn’t in it
And nothing suitable was found

Had in mind to pick a flower
But though plenty there to see
My heart couldn’t find a colour
And none appealed that much to me

Had in mind to sing a love song
But although my voice was strong
My heart just didn’t want to play
And no-one sang along

Had in mind to write a poem
And, as you see, that worked out fine
For my heart is always there and
finds the right words every time

 

If you enjoyed the poem. please leave a comment.

