All I need

by Jem Croucher

 

Sometimes I can just escape
when I’m sitting on a train
Travelling to another business meeting
in the sunshine or the rain
I have my music and a playlist
and that is all I need
Watching the world rush by outside
whilst I travel on at speed

Sometimes I can just escape
to my special place on the beach
The bench beside the old fishing boat
from my home, in easy reach
I have my sea and its movement
and that is all I need
Watching as the waves crash on the shore
whilst my thoughts are slowly freed

Sometimes I can just escape
when I’m reading a good book
Caught up in the adventure there
each page a different look
I have my minds eye and its vision
and that is all I need
Watching worlds unfold around me
Literature as my creed

Sometimes I can just escape
when I’m writing something new
Capturing a moment for posterity
and in a year or so, review
I have my pen and my poems book
and that is all I need
Watching words take shape and form
Like planting a new seed

 

2 Comments to “All I need”

If you enjoyed the poem. please leave a comment.

