27 Petals – (Valentine’s poetry challenge)

by Jem Croucher

Poetry challenge: Valentines day poem.
 
 
IMGP1817

I had a flower with twenty-seven petals
One for every year
And after I’d plucked every one
And kissed it to the wind
And watched it float away
All I had left was a tear
But reflected in there, shiny and bright
A smile remained for the one
And after I’d whimsically dreamt
And reminisced for a while
And watched all the petals disappear
I was back where we had begun.

Photo by Jempics

This was the poem I wrote for the Valentine’s card I have to my true soulmate in 2006; this year we celebrate our 36th wedding anniversary so there may well be another contribution to this challenge later in the month!

8 Responses to “27 Petals – (Valentine’s poetry challenge)”

  1. Ceadomile reblogged this on The WordPress Blogatorium and commented:
    Discover new blogs, make new friends, join our communities, have fun https://www.facebook.com/groups/thewordpressblogatorium/

  2. What a wonderful poem ~ so nice;
    seeing the footnotes ~ married a long time!
    Congrats to U2. 🙂

  3. This is lovely, Jem and your sunflower photograph – and oh my! 45 years 🙂 ? Happy Anniversary.
    Ellespeth

Trackbacks

If you enjoyed the poem. please leave a comment.

