Tortured Turret

by Seafarrwide

Tortured Turret

Poem by Wendy Norman (Seafarrwide)

Many a night I have sat and cried
Sharp stones have hurt and cut my stride
Potholes of disappointments have crippled me
Slowly they filled with complacency

Rivulets of pain built my turret so tall
Thanks to my builders, they are in awe
I cant be broken there’s nothing left to break
The weight of sorrow threathens to suffocate

The northern breeze sweeps over me
It tickles my eyes to make me see
Dwelling in my tower of cold constraint
Paying the toll of a virtuous saint

But I heard a bird sing its song so sweet
My heart woke to take the beat
I will relinquish my battle and be set free
With head held high so I can finally see

Feeling the sunbeams warming rays
Accepting the beauty of my days
My breath is a privilege I’ve made the choice
This heart will beat and can still rejoice

What stories await at each door ajar
Sunny roads of happiness beg from afar
Indolence is a curse to be thrust aside
Purpose and satisfaction allies of pride

I have found me again I will not hide

Tags: ,

3 Comments to “Tortured Turret”

  1. Certainly relate, lovely write…!!

  2. really enjoyed this – “Accepting the beauty of my days” is my favorite line

If you enjoyed the poem. please leave a comment.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.