Whisper before the morning

by Jem Croucher

It is the whisper before the morning
and I have captured the curl of a smile
caught with the taste of salt on my lips
and lingering for a while.
◊
I have seen a long night of summer calm
come and go with the tide
sitting on the shingle here
my two dogs at my side
◊
I have seen a fading azure sky
over in the east
and I have witnessed dawn’s full splendour,
a perfect visual feast
◊
It is the whisper before the morning
and its fragrance is as new
it is a privilege to be here
bequeathed to very few

3 Comments to “Whisper before the morning”

  1. 🙂 a whisper from dream?

    Yoshiko

    >

  2. Wonderful poem, it did seem a bit preachy at the last line or two. All the beauty before it is scrumptious.

If you enjoyed the poem. please leave a comment.

